This website uses cookies in order to improve user experience. Please click 'I accept' to consent the use of this technology by Bank of Valletta p.l.c. Click here for more information on cookies or to view the Bank's Privacy Notice.
Get in touch - Bank of Valletta - BOV Group
Customer Service Centre - Bank of Valletta - BOV Group
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
  • ... >
Maximise Banner
Minimise Banner
next Previous
next Previous
next Previous
Depositor Compensation Scheme
Depositor Information Sheet

Basic information about the protection of deposit

Deposits in Bank of Valletta are protected by:
The Depositor Compensation Scheme*, established under Regulation 4 of the Depositor Compensation Scheme Regulations, 2015.

Limit of protection:
€100,000 per depositor per credit institution **

If you have more deposits at the same credit institution:
All your deposits at the same credit institution are “aggregated” and the total is subject to the limit of €100,000.

If you have a joint account with other person(s):
The limit of €100,000 applies to each depositor separately ***

Reimbursement period in case of credit institution’s failure:

20 working days ****

Currency of reimbursement:

Depositor Compensation Scheme,
c/o Malta Financial Services Authority,
Triq Notabile, Ħ’Attard BKR 3000,
Tel: (+) 356 2144 1155;
* Scheme responsible for the protection of your deposit
Your deposit is covered by a statutory Deposit Guarantee Scheme. If insolvency of your credit institution should occur, your deposits would in any case be repaid up to €100,000.

** General limit of protection
If a deposit is unavailable because a credit institution is unable to meet its financial obligations, depositors
are repaid by the Depositor Compensation Scheme, in accordance with the regulations. This repayment covers a maximum of €100,000 per credit institution. This means that all deposits at the same credit institution are added up in order to determine the coverage level. If, for instance, a depositor holds a savings account with €90,000 and a current account with €20,000, he or she will only be repaid €100,000.

In addition to the protection described above, deposits may be protected in some cases up to a maximum of €500,000 for six months after the amount has been credited or from the moment when such deposits become legally transferable. In order to qualify for such higher protection, a deposit in excess of €100,000 must meet any one of the following additional criteria:

(A) it comprises:
  • monies deposited in preparation for the purchase of a private residential property by the depositor; or
  • monies which represent the proceeds of sale of a private residential property of the depositor; or
(B) it comprises sums paid to the depositor in respect of:
  • a separation, divorce or dissolution of their civil union; or
  • benefits payable on retirement; or
  • a claim for compensation for unfair dismissal; or
  • a claim for compensation for redundancy; or
  • benefits payable for death or bodily injury; or
  • a claim for compensation for wrongful conviction.
More information can be obtained under

*** limit of protection for joint accounts
In case of joint accounts, the limit of €100,000 applies to each depositor.
However, deposits in an account to which two or more persons are entitled as members of a business partnership, association or grouping of a similar nature, without legal personality, are aggregated and treated as if made by a single depositor for the purpose of calculating the limit of €100,000.

**** Reimbursement
The responsible Deposit Guarantee Scheme is the Depositor Compensation Scheme,
c/o Malta Financial Services Authority,
Triq Notabile,
Ħ’Attard BKR 3000, Malta;
Tel: (+)356 2144 1155;
E-mail: [email protected]

It will repay your deposits up to €100,000 within 20 working days until 31 December 2018; within 15 working
days from 1 January 2019 until 31 December 2020; within 10 working days from 1 January 2021 until 31 December 2023; and within 7 working days from 1 January 2024 onwards.

As of 31 May 2016, where the Depositor Compensation Scheme cannot make the repayable amount(s) available within 7 working days, depositors shall have access to an amount, not exceeding €1,500, to cover the cost of living, within 5 working days of a request. The Depositor Compensation Scheme shall only grant access to such amount within 5 working days on the basis of data provided by the credit institution.
If you have not been repaid within these deadlines, you should make contact with the Depositor Compensation Scheme since the time to claim reimbursement may be barred after a certain time limit. Further information can be obtained from

Other important information
In general, all retail depositors and businesses are covered by the Depositor Compensation Scheme. Exceptions for certain deposits are stated on the website of the Depositor Compensation Scheme. Your credit institution will also inform you on request whether certain products are covered or not. If deposits are covered, the credit institution shall also confirm this on the statement of account.



A deposit is excluded from protection under the Depositor Compensation Scheme if:
The deposit arises out of transactions in connection with which there has been a criminal conviction for money laundering;

The holder and any beneficial owner of the deposit has never been identified in accordance with prevention of money laundering requirements at the compensation date;
It is a deposit made by a depositor which is one of the following:
  • credit institution for deposits made on its own behalf and for its own account
  • financial institution
  • investment firm
  • insurance undertaking
  • reinsurance undertaking
  • collective investment undertaking
  • pension or retirement fund
  • public authority
It consists of debt securities issued by a credit institution and liabilities arising out of own acceptances and promissory notes;
The deposit is held with a credit institution participating in the Depositor Compensation Scheme but in a
branch of that credit institution which is located in a non-EEA ***** Member State.
***** The ‘EEA’ stands for the European Economic Area which currently comprises the 28 EU Member States (i.e. Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic. Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom) plus, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

You may download the document by clicking here
Download >
Reserve Cheque Account - Product Information Guide
Download >
Product Info Guide BOV eAccount
Download >
Call Account - Product Information Guide
Download >
Current Account - Product Information Guide
Download >
Savings Account - Product Information Guide
Download >
BOV Young Savers Account Product Information Guide
Share this item:
Print page
My Guide has identified the following related material
next Previous
BOV Pjazza
next Previous
Bank of Valletta p.l.c. is a public limited company regulated by the MFSA and is licensed to carry out the business of banking and investment services in terms of the Banking Act (Cap. 371 of the Laws of Malta) and the Investment Services Act (Cap.370. of the Laws of Malta).